Sliver Slugger Award Winner – Buster Posey

sf giants, san francisco giants, photo, 2012, world series, buster posey

First-time honors for 10 of 18, including NL Batting Champ Posey; Jeter and Braun each get their fifth

Ten of the 18 team members were recognized as Silver Slugger winners for the first time, including Buster Posey, catcher for the World Series® Champion San Francisco Giants and winner of the NL batting title. Two players made the team for the fifth time – the American League’s shortstop, Derek Jeter of the Yankees, and the National League’s Ryan Braun, leftfielder for the Milwaukee Brewers.  The Silver Slugger award winners were determined by a vote of Major League Baseball coaches and managers who named the players they felt were the best offensive producers at each position in both the American and National leagues in 2012.

2012 Louisville Slugger Silver Slugger Winners:

American League
1B   – Prince Fielder, Detroit Tigers
2B   – Robinson Cano, New York Yankees
3B  – Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers
SS   – Derek Jeter, New York Yankees
OF  – Mike Trout, L.A. Angels
OF  – Josh Hamilton, Texas Rangers
OF  – Josh Willingham, Minnesota Twins
C     –     A.J. Pierzynski, Chicago White Sox
DH Billy Butler, Kansas City Royals

National League
1B   – Adam LaRoche, Washington Nationals
2B  – Aaron Hill, Arizona Diamondbacks
3B  – Chase Headley, San Diego Padres
SS   – Ian Desmond, Washington Nationals
OF  – Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh Pirates
OF  – Ryan Braun, Milwaukee Brewers
OF  – Jay Bruce, Cincinnati Reds
C     –     Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants
P     – Stephen Strasburg, Washington Nationals

Each trophy is three feet tall and bears the engraved name of the winner and his Silver Slugger teammates in his respective league. After the 2012 Silver Slugger Award Show, on MLB Network tonight, the awards will be sent back to Louisville where the public can see all 18 on display over the winter at Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory. The specially designed Silver Slugger Awards will be presented to each player in on-field ceremonies early in the 2013 season.

The Silver Slugger Award was instituted by Louisville Slugger in 1980 as a natural extension of the Silver Bat Award, which is – as its name indicates – a silver-plated bat presented by Louisville Slugger to the batting champions in the AL and NL. This year’s Silver Bat Award winners are Cabrera of the Detroit Tigers and Posey of the San Francisco Giants. Cabrera hit .330 to claim the AL batting title. Posey won the NL batting title with a .336 average.  Both will receive their Silver Bat Awards in on-field presentations in the spring.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: